Education & Credentials

At Bodycentral Physical Therapy, we require our Physical Therapists to be a Doctor of Physical Therapy and/or a Board Certified Clinical Specialist. What does that really mean?

To be a Physical Therapist in the state of Arizona the basic requirements are:

  • A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree in Physical Therapy
  • Passing score on the Physical Therapy Board Exam

Our Physical Therapists must be:

  • Doctor of Physical Therapy (7 years of training + Clinical rotations)
  • A Board Certified Clinical Specialist

What is a Board Certified Clinical Specialist?

The American Board of Physical Therapy Specialities has been overseeing and certifying Physical Therapists since 1985.

Currently, the ABPTS offers board-certification in eight specialty areas of physical therapy: Cardiovascular and Pulmonary, Clinical Electrophysiology, Geriatrics, Neurology, Oncology, Orthopaedics, Pediatrics, Sports, and Women’s Health.

“The mission of the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties is to advance the profession of physical therapy by establishing, maintaining, and promoting standards of excellence for clinical specialization, and by recognizing the advanced knowledge, skills and experience by physical therapist practitioners through specialist credentialing.” —ABPTS

These Credentials are denoted by letters after the Therapist’s name.

DPT= Doctor of Physical Therapy

OCS= Board Certified Orthopaedic Clinical Specialist

SCS= Board Certified Sports Clinical Specialist

WCS= Board Certified Women’s Health Clinical Specialist

NCS= Board Certified Neurologic Clinical Specialist

Other Credentials you will see:

CHT= Certified Hand Therapist

CSCS= Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist

PTA= Physical Therapist Assistant

CPT= Certified Personal Trainer